FILM REVIEW: The BFG


bfg

  • Film Guide: PG
  • Rating: 5 stars
  • Would I recommend it: Definitely

Roald Dahl has to rate up there as one of the best and most-loved writer of children’s books … ever.

I love his books and have read them all to SC – and if you get a chance to visit his museum – do – it’s amazing.

We’ve even read his autobiography of his childhood – it’s definitely worth a read and I guarantee you will never look at liquorice laces in the same way again!

But The BFG is definitely a firm favourite.

Being old enough to remember the cartoon version, voiced by the inimitable David Jason, I wasn’t sure that anything could top it let alone a live-action version (seems to be all the rage these days taking an animated film and live-actioning it!)

But, how wrong I was.

The film stayed true to the book with only a slight veering off course at the end – where the giants are not thrown into a pit, but somewhere else and Sophie lives happily ever after, which we never actually find out in the book.

The lovely Mark Rylance took the role of The BFG – totally unrecognisable, but utterly wonderful.  From the moment he emerged from the darkness you warmed to him.

12 year old Ruby Barnhill literally steals the entire film with her portrayal of the orphan Sophie – she was lovely to watch and the moments between her and the BFG were just magical.

Rounding off the main cast is Penelope Wilton as the queen – there is no one who could have played her better.

I laughed – seriously and out loud – I defy anyone not too – especially after the queen and all the royal subjects drink frobscottle (if you’ve read the book you’ll know what happens next!)

I sat mesmerised at the dream catching – truly magical.

I cried – seriously and with tears rolling down my face – there were some very tender moments and the music by John Williams (who better) added to the emotion and I just couldn’t help myself – mind you I do cry very easily when watching, or reading anything.

I sat enthralled from the first moment until the last credits rolled – it was, in my opinion, a great cinemagraphic tribute to one the world’s best writers.

I loved it, so did SC.

If you get a chance to see it, please do – and if you’re anything like me – take a packet of tissues!

“I am brave!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Reviews

Leave a Reply

