Wolf-Whistling to become a hate crime – seriously?


In the immortal words of John McEnroe, “You cannot be serious, man?”

Why?

If anyone takes being wolf-whistled at offensively then maybe they should just lighten up a bit.

And before you all go off on one, yes I know sexual assault and harassment are very serious offences and should be dealt with accordingly, I get that. But a wolf-whistle?

If that’s the case, then surely if women yell obscenities at men across the street about getting their kit off, that should be treated in the same vein?

Yes?

No?

Wolf-whistling has been the playful banter, and I use the word banter loosely here, of building sites for years.  It’s harmless fun. And as long as it stays that way why should it matter.

Feminism, schmemenism!

Now, in all seriousness I am not a dog and do not respond to a whistle (I’m a cat, I will take a message and get back to you 😉 ), but I like being wolf-whistled at.

I don’t take it seriously and 9 times out of 10 they will pretty much wolf-whistle anyone – I mean they must if they whistle at me, right? 😉

But getting a wolf-whistle makes me feel a bit zingier – maybe it’s just that little bit of attention. God! that makes me sound so needy, I’m not but everyone needs a little attention sometimes to feel alive – it’s like that little jump your heart does when you get a text from someone you like.  Nothing horrible, just lovely and quite nice actually.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

