A-Z of Life – Disappointment


Disappointment-Quotes

We’ve all been disappointed at some point in our lives.

When we didn’t get the job we so desperately wanted, or the present wasn’t quite what we were expecting, or when things just don’t go our way.

But how we deal with the disappointments is what makes us who we are.

Disappointments can be a blessing or a lesson. Maybe the disappointment has steered us away from something that would not be good for us, or it teaches us something about ourselves.

And why do we get disappointed? Because reality doesn’t match up to our expectations.  Because we hope that things will always turn out for the best – we don’t want to think about the negative.

Even with a positive outlook on life, we can still end up disappointed.

I am always disappointed in myself. I berate myself constantly for everything that goes wrong.  Of course, these days I try to put a more positive spin on things rather than spiral downwards. But I berate myself for over-analysing, thinking too much, worrying unnecessarily, procrastinating, wanting life to be different.

I take every opportunity and curve ball that life throws at and enjoy every single minute, so that if I end up disappointed I can at least sit back and say “Ah well!” instead of “what if?”

I get disappointed when things don’t go my way and I don’t get that audition or an interview for that job I so desperately wanted, but again I have hope and tell myself that destiny has something better for me.

I have lost count of the times that men have disappointed me. The liars, cheats, two-timers, hedgers, manipulators, control freaks all took a part of my life away from me and looking back I can see that their actions always belied their words.

It has taken a long time for me to build myself back from all of that and I am now in a strong place in my life. I am still a believer that there is someone out there who will not disappoint me. Someone whose actions will speak volumes. Someone who will climb to the top of the tree and tell me that I was worth the climb.

So, don’t feel down if you feel disappointed, just hold your head up and grab onto that thing called hope 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under A-Z of Life

Leave a Reply

