Smells – My Top & Bottom 5 Smells


A top and bottom 5 list of smells.

There’s so many smells out there and we can’t like everything, so what makes my top and bottom list of aromas:

Top 5

5.  Ash/Open Fires – I love the smell of open fires and the scent of the ash afterwards (note I like the smell, not the taste (I’ve eaten some stuff that actually made me think I was eating a fire grate!) I don’t know what it is about the smell of a roaring fire, but there’s something warm and inviting.  But heck, maybe that’s just the old romantic in me!
4.  Bread – who doesn’t love the smell of freshly baked bread.  It’s one of those smells that you are encouraged to get your house to smell like, when you are selling it, before you have a viewing. The smell of freshly baked bread just gets your tastebuds tingling.  And of course, you can’t eat fresh bread without butter – the proper stuff mind you.
3.  Vanilla – just mmm, dreamy smell.  It’s probably got something to do with the sweetness, it reminds me of ice cream and cakes.
2.  Flowers – of course this had to be here.  I love the smell of flowers and my favourite are deep red, velvety roses. A friend of mine used to have an orange blossom in their garden and that scent was just amazing it reminded me of orange groves.  I have been known to walk along the road and stop to sniff blossoms.  It just takes a moment out of my day to remind me how wonderful the world is.  You should try it sometimes (but you may get a few odd looks!)
1.  Sea – my top smell.  There’s nothing like the smell of salt water on a sea breeze.  I definitely think I need to live near water. There’s something about it that just makes me relax and chill immediately.  It’s one of those smells I wish I could bottle so I could take a whiff whenever I was feeling blue.
So, those are my top 5 smells, but what about the ones I can’t stomach….

5.  Parmesan – now I love cheese, seriously love cheese. (Cheese on toast total comfort food). BUT parmesan just smells like vomit. So if you put it anywhere near my food, I’m not going to eat it.  Now I know fresh parmesan apparently doesn’t, but I think the smell is so ingrained in my brain the smell neurons are not going to change their minds.
4.  Lavender – much as I love herbs and flowers I cannot stomach the smell of lavender.  I know it’s supposed to relax you, but bleurgh!!!  Have you tried those lavender things you put in the microwave to pop on achy parts of your body?  Is it just me or does lavender, when heated, just smell of cat wee? Sorry lavender, but you just don’t do it for me!
3.  Strong perfume – of the ladies variety.  Maybe it is just my nose? Years ago I used to sell natural, organic perfume which worked a different set of smell buds, so to speak.  Now when my mum pops on her perfume – OMG! It just smells like a tart’s boudoir.  I think because my nose got used to natural, all it can smell is the chemicals.  Sorry.
2.  School canteens – I don’t know what it is they cook in them, but there’s something that reminds me of my primary school dinners. I think it’s some kind of battered yuckiness.  My primary school dinners were completely revolting – seriously there was no health & safety.  We used to find all manner of stuff on our plates, and as for the grease that used to ooze out of everything when a fork went in…it’s a wonder we made it out alive!
1.  Curry House – I don’t know what it is, but there is just something about the smell of a curry house that makes me feel nauseous.  I’ve never eaten curry, but there’s something about the smell of the restaurant.  It could be the spices, the oil, anything, but there’s something that my smell neurons just don’t like.  Such a shame as I’ve always wanted to go to India!

Leave a comment

Filed under Top 10

Leave a Reply

