FILM REVIEW: Angry Birds – The Movie


  • angry birdsClassification:  U
  • Rating: 3 stars

I know it’s a game that you can download on your i-phone to waste valuable minutes/hours/days (delete as appropriate), but dear God the thought of having sit through 97 minutes of it filled me with dread.

Admittedly, when I saw the trailer it looked harmless and SC wanted to see it, so this afternoon we ventured to the local cinema to watch it.

I was happy to see there was Costa in the cinema foyer, so I managed to grab a tea as I thought I would need it to get through the next 1½ hours!

Honestly, the film wasn’t as bad as thought it would be. There was a plotline, that if you looked beneath the surface actually had a fairly deep meaning about it (beware pigs being nice!).

In a nutshell bad pigs con the birds and then fleece them, but birds fight back. So your average bad guy versus good guy and the good guys win.

And there were some very funny moments – synchronised swimming to the Flower Duet (the tune they used for the British Airways ad years ago), a burst of Rick Astley (oh, that brought back some memories of school), the attack on the pig castle and the eagle busting his disco moves to Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive” (and as an Essex girl that got my little toes a-tapping, but actually reminded me of Priscilla Queen of the Desert – both the film and dancing in the aisles at the musical)

Would I see the movie again? Probably not.

Despite my initial fears, it was a good children’s animated movie – which is why I gave it 3 stars.

It will definitely keep the children entertained, might give the parents a bit of a giggle, but I would recommend a coffee to keep you going … just in case.

2 Comments

Filed under Other Reviews

2 responses to “FILM REVIEW: Angry Birds – The Movie

  1. Looks like it’s exactly how I thought it would be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

