So, it’s easy being a single mother is it?


Apparently Mylene Klass has said she loves being a single mum, she wants to ‘own’ it (whatever the hecky thump that phrase means) or #someothershit

Well, and please excuse the sarcasm here but it probably helps if you have millions in the bank, nannies or au pairs and not much else to have to worry about.

But for those of us who live in the real world the answer is slightly different.

No, it isn’t easy.

It’s bloody hard work!

I certainly didn’t set out to be a single mother, but ended up one pretty much from day 1. (And no, before anyone jumps in, I have never, ever denied any contact – just like to make that clear)

You don’t just have to be 1 parent, you have to be 2 rolled into 1.

The job is 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, with no break.

No one to say “you know what, you have a lie in and I’ll take the baby out for a couple of hours!” – and believe me after 18months of being woken every 1½hours I looked like the living dead, followed by not actually sleeping through the night until he was 4, it’s no wonder I have bags under my eyes the size of a 747 cargo-hold!

No one to help you when they’re sick with a fever of 104, or having night terrors and you have no clue what to do.

No one to help out if you’re sick.

No one to talk to.

Now, I will admit I am luckier than a lot of lone parents out there, my parents took us in, and yes I don’t have to worry about rent or food. But I don’t and never have just sat back and taken advantage of their good nature – and I will never ever be able to repay them.

I don’t go out every night of the week, sleeping with any Tom, Dick or Harry.  In fact, it is very rare I go out at all – I go ballroom dancing once a week and that pretty much sums up the extent of my social life.

And yes, my so-called friends thought I had the life of Riley because I lived back with my parents. Why my parents do all the work for me and I can just swan about doing jack-all.

Actually that couldn’t be further from the truth.

I actually hold down so many jobs it’s unbelievable.

I’m obviously a full-time “most-epic-awesomest” mummy ever.

But I’m also, full-time housemaid, chef, laundry woman and most lately elderly carer.

And a business owner – which as you can see is not very far up the list due to all the other stuff that has to be done.

Then there’s the fact that I am still living with my parents and trying to bring up my child – can you see where this one’s heading? Yup! I say something to SC, they yell at me, for getting cross with him, and then in the next breath say I’m letting him rule the roost!!

And yes, I am extremely lucky that I do have my parents there if I am unable to do the school run because I need to be at work early, or can’t get home in time, or if I am unwell they are to help.

So, it’s not a doddle.  It certainly wasn’t a career choice and I wouldn’t say I ‘own’ it!

And yes, there are times, quite a lot if truth be told, where I wish there was handsome prince, just someone to talk to – about anything, someone to share the load with, someone to put their arm around me and say “don’t worry, I’m here for you, I’ll protect you!”

So, it is hard, very hard indeed, but it does have an extremely brilliant plus side.

SC and I have the most amazing relationship. The bond is unbreakable. And yes, I know, he’s only mine for a short time, but right now he is my entire world.

We are a team!

And I wouldn’t swap what we have, or have had, for anything.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under life

Leave a Reply

