A-Z of Life – Attitude


positive attitudeA couple of years ago I wrote a series of posts titled “The A-Z of Life”.

Well, I’ve re-read them all over the last couple of days and realised just how far I have come on my journey through life since then.  Re-reading them now, I can actually see where my head was and what a mess I was.

So, I thought I might do another series of the “A-Z of Life”, using different words for each letter, but now I am in a happier, more positive place it will be interesting to compare the 2.

So, let’s start at the very beginning, as the song goes.

A is for Attitude.

Over the last couple of years I have tried very hard to improve my attitude towards life in general.

I was in a very dark place. Aside from having SC, I felt as though my life was worthless. I felt like a complete failure as a human being – it seemed like everything I touched disintegrated around me. I couldn’t see a way out from the bottom of the very deep, dark pit I was in.

I don’t know where or when or how, but one day I realised I had to do something. Life was rushing past and I was stuck in tar not moving anywhere.

I needed to seize back the power over my life.

But it needed to be done with little steps.

After reading many, many, many books I sort of sectioned my life out. Work, health, etc.

And then tackled one section at a time.

For example, with work after freeing myself of the franchise, I sat down and wrote list after list after list about what I was good at, what I would like from a career, what I wanted to do, etc. And finally, I literally had an epiphany about what I should do, and so I decided to do it. I love my job not only from the enormous job satisfaction it gives me, but because it’s something I created.

But the main thing that happened during this time was that I went from thinking very negatively about myself and life to thinking how lucky and blessed I am.

So that one small change from negative thinking to positive thinking does work.

You may not see it immediately, but if you think positive, you begin to act more positively and start off a chain reaction so that more and more areas of your life feel more positive.

I’m not saying that there aren’t little stumbles along the way – we aren’t perfect! And it is hard.  This week, for example, I’ve been a bit less positive, because I am trying to get into a play and I’m letting my nerves and ”Charlie’ get the better of me – literally to the point of nausea. But I just need to keep thinking positive and flip my thinking.

That’s the main thing I’ve learned – a positive attitude leads to a happier and more fulfilled life.

So think positive and keep smiling 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under A-Z of Life

Leave a Reply

