Welcome to the 21st Century


Today I decided to finally upgrade from my old, clapped-out cell phone to a touchscreen smartphone.

I don’t need apps galore – to be honest I really only use the phone for calls, texts and occasionally taking photos, but the fact that my phone only stored about 15 texts before it said “memory full” was beginning to grate.

There were 2 problems I faced:

  1. My SIM card is literally a 20th century one – it is still the very 1st SIM card I had when I got my 1st mobile (I’m rather attached to it) – so it doesn’t fit very well in these new phones which take much smaller SIM cards
  2. I know my contacts are stored on the SIM, but how on earth do you transfer and stuff on the phone??

The 1st problem was easily solved by the man in the shop who had a nifty little device that actually cuts down your SIM card to the correct size 😉 how handy! So instead of having to phone up my mobile provider for a new SIM (with same number) and then get the guys to transfer contacts to the new SIM, with one quick SNIP it was done.

I have to say, I did have a bit of a heart stopping moment when the SIM went in to the new phone and it refused to recognise the mobile provider.  Thankfully, though it was user error – not me I hasten to add…the guy in the shop had put the SIM card in the wrong way round.  Easy mistake to make – heck, I wouldn’t even have known where to start, I’m still not entirely convinced I know how to take the back off this thing!

Now the 2nd problem allowed me to fully embrace my inner geekette 😉 I enjoy problem solving.

I searched for hours on t’internet to see if you could transfer text messages from phone to phone.  It seems fairly straightforward from smartphone to smartphone, there are many websites that can help, but when it’s just your normal, standard old-fashioned (for want of a better word) mobile, there is nothing.

The texts it seems stay on the phone, but you cannot transfer them.

Or can you?

As I said I didn’t find anything on the internet, but I did manage to find a sort-of, make-it-up-as-you-go-along work around. Crude, simple but effective.

It seems if you try to forward a text message, one of the options is to “save”, this then saves the text to your drafts folder, which is on the SIM!

So when you put your old SIM in a new phone, voila, the text message is there.

Like I said, it’s a crude method and it can take a while, but I thought it would work.

Did it?

Well, um, sort of. When I turned my new phone on there were 4 of them there, but not all.

Then, I hit on another brainwave. Bizarrely I have several other phones for different purposes, so I wondered if the text messages were on the phone then if I inserted a different SIM I could then just re-send my messages (which were now handily saved in the Drafts folder) to my number.

BINGO!

So, there is a way. It is crude. It’s not very technical, just time consuming. And, of course it does help if you have another phone with a different SIM.

But, I thoroughly enjoyed the chance to get my brainwaves turning to solve the problem.

After all, as the very lovely Audrey Hepburn is quoted as saying “nothing is impossible, the very word says I’m possible!” 😉

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

