They think it’s all over ….


…IT IS NOW!!

After, apparently, the worst World Cup performance since 1958, there will obviously be, as there always are, questions to be asked and lessons to be learned.  However, these would be my questions:

  1. Why does the blame of such a shambolic display always lie at the feet of the manager?
  2. Would my local pub team play better? (Answer, probably yes)
  3. Is the reason the English team fare so badly is that the players have failed to recognise the first and fundamental rule of teamwork …. that it doesn’t contain I!
  4. And obviously, the biggest question I would be asking if I was a Premiership Manager, judging by their performance are they actually worth their £100k + weekly salary?

I mean, seriously, in the real world, if you were paid an outrageous amount of money and spectacularly failed to provide a decent service, or conduct yourself properly in your employment you would be frogmarched out of the building before you could even say “Flaming Ferrari!”  So how come, the England players still have their job, are still paid their salary and the manager always gets the boot.

I get that the manager is in charge of strategy, line-up, etc, but all he can do is put forward what he considers the best strategy against whatever side the team will be facing, at the end of the day if the players can’t actually, as it would appear, pass the ball to each other, then surely they should be penalised as well?

I mean would they actually play any better if their international appearances were paid on a performance basis, i.e., if they didn’t win they didn’t get paid, or do they just need a good old fashioned team-building day to get them working as a team, so they know how each other thinks?

I would just like to reiterate that these are my own general observations. I am not a huge football fan. I do have certain teams that I support, but I don’t get upset if they lose – it’s just a game!  Besides Wimbledon starts on Monday 😉

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

