There’s something nasty in the woodshed!!!


…in the form of a disgusting smell.

I kid you not, since the weather has gotten warmer, SC and I have braved the outside world to play, and obviously this involved retrieving stuff – bike, scooter, football, etc., – from the garden shed.

But, urgh! The smell has been horrendous. There was something definitely decomposing – vegetation or life form I had no clue. But decomposing was going on somewhere, there was the smell, and then every time I opened the shed door, there were small flies everywhere.

Yesterday, I thought I’d found it. We had kept the heads from last years sunflowers in order to replant the seeds to grow sunflowers again this year. Unfortunately, they went a bit mouldy and mulchy in the shed over winter. My dad hadn’t discarded them in the green bin, and I haven’t ventured outside unless I needed too – prefer to hibernate over winter, snuggled up at home, underneath a blanket, nice and warm and cosy 😉

I digress!

So, the bucket went yesterday.

Today I had to go to the garden centre – 200L of compost to buy for the vegetable patch, I’m going to have fun digging that in, and planting vegetable seeds. When the time came to empty my car of garden centre goodies, I might have also bought a few herbs and plants as well, I thought I would store (just in case it rains) the compost in the smelly shed. This involved having to move stuff around.

BINGO!

There was something definitely nasty and rotting in the woodshed – and it wasn’t a nest of dead mice!

No, it was something much, much worse.

Our garage got flooded during the monsoon season, or British Winter 2013/14, nothing horrendous, just a flash flood as the farmer’s field couldn’t hold the lake of water anymore and it decided to make a break for freedom and run down the road, through anything that stood in its way.

My dad, in his wisdom, moved all the bags that got wet into the shed without looking in them. I quickly retrieved SC’s bag of toys he had decided to send to children in India (but ended up in the rubbish, too damaged), but several bags remained. Including the one containing … THE SMELL!

So, imagine my surprise when I went to move an innocent looking bin bag containing a large clear plastic bag – cue gag reflexes and crawling maggots! Yes indeedy, the clear plastic bag had contained fish food – for the fish in the pond (before they died) – it clearly had got wet and had been sitting in the shed nicely rotting, decomposing and doing whatever else it does.

I don’t think I have ever thrown anything quite as quickly!

I don’t think I could go fishing – not only would the smell of the bait get me, I couldn’t even pick a crawly maggot up!

So, right now it is sitting outside the shed door and I’m wondering, now it’s night-time, whether I should dress up in my secret spy outfit – black clothes, hat and sunglasses – brave the smell, creep up the road and empty said content of … THE SMELL … back to where nature intended, the field at the top of the road, or just let the smell, and hopefully maggots disappear into the night sky over the next couple of nights, wrap it tightly, very tightly in several bin bags and chuck it in the black bin just before collection day??

I’m veering towards the secret spy outfit 😉

The main thing is, thankfully now, there isn’t anything nasty in the woodshed, aside from the odd spider!

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

