Out of the Mouthes of Babes – The Tooth Fairy


SC lost his first tooth yesterday!tooth-fairy

A milestone in the journey of life.

His tooth has been getting wobblier for a while, but he has been very good and not given it any extra manual wobbles.

He went into school yesterday and then 10 seconds later came back to the door, holding his hand out and looking a tad shocked said “Mummy! My tooth came out!”

Apparently, he had walked into something on the wall (he is totally clumsy, just like his mummy 😉 ). Then “I heard a clanking sound mummy.” (I did not know teeth falling out made a clanking noise! “And then I felt something swooshing around my mouth.”

He deposited the tooth in my hand and left me standing there with his first baby tooth. It was so small and white, like a little pearl. His teacher kindly gave me a tissue to carefully wrap the precious tooth in, and then it hit me.

“Oh no! This means the Tooth Fairy has got to visit.” I had to ask several mums what the going rate was these days – absolutely no idea.

Now, I used to sell the most gorgeous Tooth Fairy kits, which came with a little sparkly box, a story, a pouch and of course some fairy dust. I thought I had a couple left in the depths of the garage, but despite searching high and low, I could not find them. I really must have chucked everything last time I had a clear out of old stock!

So when he went to bed last night, he carefully put the tooth (in a small organza bag) under his pillow.

The just before I went to bed, I replaced the tooth with a £2, and sprinkled some fairy dust in a trail over the floor.

Now the problem was, was that SC was rather excited at the thought of a visit from the Tooth Fairy, which meant that rather like Christmas he was extremely restless and awake pretty much every hour asking what the time was. I turned the light on at 4:30, he looked under the pillow, clocked the trail of sparkle and was very excited. I did tell him the Tooth Fairy gave him double because it was his first tooth. Then, thankfully, he turned over and slept soundly…well for another hour at least 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Out of the Mouthes of Babes

Leave a Reply

