Bloody Hormones (Part 5)


…or the one where Colposcopy Central leads to Biopsy Boulevard!!!

The good news is the bleeding is definitely uterine and not cervical – hoorah!

The nurses were totally lovely this morning, but bloody hell! What a ride – I have now got a serious headache!!!

[Note – if you’re squeamish I suggest you switch pages now!]

After my legs were comfortably (?) positioned in stirrups a speculum was inserted so everyone could get a good look (on the TV monitor) of my cervix.

After having a good look, the informed me that the bleeding was definitely not coming from the cervix.

Then she put some liquid into the area and then swabbed with iodine – so then she informed me she needed to do a biopsy.

My head at this stage was swimming – information overload, my brain simply could not cope. I was having an internal stress meltdown.

BUT

OH MY F****** GOD!

Painful and hurt are not two words I would use to describe it.

I was clenching the chair so hard my knuckled went white, I physically stopped breathing that another nurse had to tell me to breath, the sound was awful and the pain was excruciating.

The sound was literally the sound that nail clippers make – and then couple that with effectively nail clippers cutting chunks of your skin – you can maybe understand why I screamed – rather loudly, and let’s just say I turned the air a lovely shade of blue.

I swear to God, that the 2nd time she did it I felt blood splatter onto my legs.

I do remember at one point simply saying, “please can I just have a hysterectomy now!”

And the scream that came out on the 3rd go made another nurse say “what are you doing?” and I dread to think what the patients sitting outside felt!

Let’s just say it took an awful lot of swabbing to stem the blood flow.

My mum (who thankfully came with me) couldn’t understand why the area wasn’t numbed first.

Anyway, apparently the biopsy was done to determine whether any cells were in the pre-formation of cancerous cells stage – that freaked me out even more since I’d had a smear less than 3 months previously which had shown up completely clear!

So, I now have to go back to the doctors to make an appointment for a scan to see what is causing the bleeding (4 weeks now and counting).

I think I’ll just book a ticket to Hysterectomy Harbour and get it over with!

My stress levels are at critical – no wonder I have a headache and feel sick!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Bloody Hormones (Part 5)

  1. Pingback: Can you believe I’ve stopped …. | Diary of a Wonderful Geekette

Leave a Reply

