Friday Poem – Farewell Love and All Thy Laws Together


This poem is by Sir Thomas Wyatt, a poet from the times of Henry VIII, for whom he was a diplomat. On his travels he developed a taste for continental poetry and was the first English poet to use Italian forms of the sonnet and terza rima, and the French rondeau.

This poem is about those who have been burnt by love in the past and have decided to renounce it and save their hearts from further pain.

Farewell Love and All Thy Laws Together

Farewell love and all thy laws forever;
Thy baited hooks shall tangle me no more.
Senec and Plato call me from thy lore
To perfect wealth, my wit for to endeavour.
In blind error when I did persever,
Thy sharp repulse, that pricketh aye so sore,
Hath taught me to set in trifles no store
And scape forth, since liberty is lever.
Therefore farewell; go trouble younger hearts
And in me claim no more authority.
With idle youth go use thy property
And thereon spend thy many brittle darts,
For hitherto though I have lost all my time,
Me lusteth no lenger rotten boughs to climb.
Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Poem

Leave a Reply

