Macaroni & the Highway Code


Why is macaroni the only pasta that sticks to the bottom of the pan?

I can cook all manner of pastas without a problem, but macaroni…every time I cook it – irrespective of whether I stand over it and constantly stir it for the entirety of the cooking time, or just stir occasionally as per the instructions – it sticks to the bottom of the saucepan.

I just don’t get it!

Also, why do car drivers forget their Highway Code when it comes to parked cars along the road.

I was of the opinion that if you are driving along the road in one direction and there are cars parked on the opposite side of the road to you, then you have right of way over on-coming traffic.

Not so, where I live.

You get rude gestures, shouted at, barged out of the way and all manner of niceties if you try and obey the correct procedure.

I ended up feeling rather insecure about my opinion that I sought confirmation from a friendly policeman and was advised that I was correct after all.

So maybe it’s just the age we live in where people are in so much of a hurry, or are just plain rude, that they ignore all the rules of the road…

… or maybe it’s just where I live!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

