App Review – Dictionary.com


I still have a flip-phone that just calls people (which I use occasionally) and texts people (which I use a lot), and takes a very bad picture – every picture I take varies in blurriness from slightly, to extremely!

Anyway, I do possess an I-Pod, which I bought to replace my rather worn-out CD player that I used in classes – why it took me 18 months to actually start using the thing is beyond me, how much easier is it to just pause and go to the next track rather than having to make small talk whilst surreptitiously changing the CDs over with one hand behind my back – I suppose I could always get a job as a contortionist!

Well, I thought I’d have a scout through some of the free apps – and stumbled across Dictionary.com.

So now every morning, on goes the I-Pod to see what the ‘word of the day’ is.

SC loves it, he is getting new and unusual vocabulary to add to his repertoire, which may make the teachers at school reach for the dictionary themselves 😉

Today’s word is ‘esse’ – which means being or existence, and comes from the Latin word of the same spelling meaning ‘to be’. It has, apparently been in English since the 1600s, so a fair few years then.

Over the past few weeks, we’ve had some corkers.

I think my top 5 to date are:

5.  Clangor – basically reminded me of The Clangers the TV programme with the soup dragon I used to watch when I was little. The word pretty much means what you think it does, a loud resonant sound!

4.  Gobbet – a very unusual word meaning lump or mass. I quite like it 😉

3.  Boniface – now I thought this might pretty much mean pretty. Oh, how wrong could I be? It actually means a landlord or innkeeper. Next time you enter your local watering hole, might I suggest you walk up to the bar and ask for “a pint of your best real ale my good Boniface!” Actually, on second thoughts, maybe not!

2.  Yawp – anyone who’s seen the film Dead Poets Society will know this word. Robin Williams encourages all the boys to let out a good old yawp! Oh, boy, I cried buckets at that film and had a slight crushette on Robert Sean Leonard – he could have been my Puck any day!

1.  Fribble – my absolute favourite so far. I love it. It means to act in a foolish or frivolous manner. I’ve got into the habit of telling SC to stop acting ‘fribbolously’ (?) – now I’ve probably made that tense of the word up, but it sounds great and SC loves it, makes him laugh 😉

Aside from a word of the day, the app also has a thesaurus, local lookups, translator, a hot word and a general dictionary. Not bad for a free app!

There are, like all apps, upgrades, but if you just want something to hand, it isn’t a bad little app at all.

And you get some great new words each day 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Reviews

Leave a Reply

