The A-Z of Life – Passion


Take your passion, and make it happen – to coin the song 😉passion

I’m not talking about relationship passion – because everyone knows that that initial intenseness fizzles out eventually and you’re either left with roots entwined with someone who has become your best friend or nothing.

I’m talking about being passionate about something – be it creative or otherwise.

Being passionate about something gives us an outlet from the hum-drum of normal life where we, more often than not, live to work rather than work to live.

That passion gives us our spark. Our reason for keeping going when stress gets too much.

I have always been passionate about the theatre. I love it. I could eat, sleep and breathe it 24 hours a day given half the chance.

I always wanted to be an actress, when I was younger, and yes I will admit it probably was for the illusion of glamour that surrounds the profession.

I joined various local am-dram societies, but despite that there was always something niggling inside, a flame burning away inside, I wanted more than just what I had.

My drama teacher, very wisely told me to go to university and get a career behind me before even attempting ‘life as an actress’ – and to be brutally honest, that was the best advice I have ever had – it meant that I was not reliant on the audition I walked into being the means to paying bills for the next month.

Eventually, I did go to drama school. It was hard, boy was it tough. They break you to build you and every single person on my course went through the “why am I doing this?” phase, we all felt we were not good enough at some stage.

Of course, when I left, there were no agents beating a path to my door, no big Hollywood producer calling – although I live in hope Stephen Spielberg will return my call one day 😉

I got the odd job here and there, but certainly not enough to keep the wolves from the door, so I was lucky I had my ‘career’ to return to.

The theatre though continues to be my passion. Whether I’m watching it, or doing it. There’s something about the moment the curtain goes up – it always brings tears of excitement to my eyes.

Nowadays, for me, it isn’t about the glamour, but merely that fact that it probably is the one thing I am (not being big-headed) pretty good at!

I am nearly free from the shackles of my contract (it certainly will be a relief to have the millstone removed from around my neck) and I am working on updating my ‘acting’ stuff and seeing if I can’t get the odd job here and there again – it’s been far too long.

The other thing that has recently become a passion is writing.

At school my English reports always said I lacked imagination, and that my structure of essays left much to be desired. Still I managed a reasonable B in English Language at O’Level and C in English Lit. (yes I am that old to have taken O’Levels!)

Having written various blogs for the past couple of years I have surprised myself at how, sometimes, the words seem to just flow – after enduring my school years struggling to find any inspiration whatsoever. I suppose that is the benefit of ‘life experience’ – it makes some topics much easier to write about.

So the next big(ish) project I am going to tackle is writing a book.

I’ve got a couple of ideas for fictional novels, so I’m going to see where the words take me.

Passion comes from within and sometimes that passion leads us on journeys we never knew we could, or would take.

Leave a comment

Filed under A-Z of Life

Leave a Reply

