A Word about Maps


I’m happy to report that I’m the kind of ‘girl’ driver who doesn’t actually need a sat-nav.sandcastle

I can read a map.

I can sort out directions before I leave and just ‘get-on-with-it’.

However, I think the time has come for me to purchase a new road map. The one I have in my car is a fair few years old.

As it proved yesterday!!!

Took SC to the beach in Wales.

Worked out where I needed to go, etc….BUT

It turns out the road changed somewhat, so instead of ending up at a secluded cove, I ended up in the middle of Cardiff.

Oops! 😉

One check of the map later, renavigated my way out and found the beach.

Unfortunately, it was shingle instead of sand – not the best type of beach with a SC who wants to build a sandcastle.

[note to mapmakers – would it be too much to ask to maybe change the colour you use for the beach on the maps so we can distinguish between shingle and sand?]

So, we had to look at the map again, and drove many miles to a sandy beach.

Phew!

Weather was fab, sun was shining, sea was freezing, my sandcastle building abilities still suck – but we had a FABULOUS time 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Cars, General

Leave a Reply

