I Feel Powerless, What Can I Do?


… to stop SC going through the hell I endured courtesy of bullies.

Since SC started school last year there has not been a week gone by where he hasn’t been pushed, shoved, hit, bitten, kicked, called names, etc.

Now I appreciate that some of these could be down to accidents, goodness knows I’m clumsy enough and I know SC takes after me in that respect. If it is there to bump into, we basically turn into Mr Bump. And sometimes he does run around not looking where he is going.

And I’m not the kind of parent that thinks their child is a complete angel – they all have their moments, we all do – but SC is not malicious, or violent, or mean.

But it appears there are 3 children in particular for whom SC is fair game.

So far this week he has been:

  • pushed with force onto the railings and received a lovely bruise to the lower ribcage in return;
  • punched on the jaw, with such force he was knocked to the ground onto the low-rise wall and received a beautiful shiner to the thigh;
  • hit/punched/bitten on the stomach, where there is a red abrasion mark as proof;
  • called names.

No wonder he doesn’t want to go to school.

And the teachers?

Oh well, it seems they never see anything. But if the boot is on the other foot and SC, in clumsy mode, accidentally knocks someone over;

  1. he always puts his hand up and admits liability and apologises immediately, without being told to;
  2. the teachers are always to keen to haul me into class.

 

I am literally at the end of my tether.

I was bullied at secondary school – to the extent I cannot remember anything about it, literally, I have no high school memories.

SC has at least another 10 years to go and these charming, delightful offsprings of the devil will more likely than not follow him through the education system.

I want him to have a happy childhood, full of fun, warm, happy memories. Not drawing a complete blank whenever anyone asks about it, or letting it affect him so he does not fulfill his potential in life.

I could leave him where he his and hope for the best.

I could move him to another school – but chances are there will be similar kids, just with different names and faces.

I just don’t know what to do?

What would you do?

Leave a comment

Filed under Children

Leave a Reply

