The A-Z of Life – Acceptance


We need to be able to accept ourselves for who we are and what we are.

Otherwise we are just living a lie.

Why do we feel we have to put up smoke screens to hide our true selves?

Is it because we are afraid that other people won’t like what they see?

Is it because we want to live the same life as other people because their lives look so much more attractive that our reality?

We all have flaws!

It’s taken me a long time, but I have reached the stage where I am comfortable with who I am.

  • I’m never going to win any awards in the glamour stakes – I very rarely wear make-up, if pushed mascara and lip gloss (a girl’s best friend)
  • I am too nice and caring for my own bloody good sometimes – which would account for why I always get hurt, trampled over and treated like I don’t matter – and yes, I might end up bruised and battle-scarred, but if I had a choice between being a complete b***h and me, I wouldn’t change a thing.
  • I am comfortable expressing how I feel most of the time – both physically and vocally – and this can make people feel uncomfortable. But you know what? I don’t want to feel I have to hide my feelings away because surely sharing is a good thing. I never say things for effect, or for a reaction, I’m purely just saying how I feel. Is that so wrong? From my perspective, I feel that we are taught to stifle our emotions as we grow up for fear of being seen as weak and pathetic, or we hide our emotions so people can’t see how much they are hurting us, which then overspills into hiding all emotions. Which is so wrong. I was bullied and I hid my emotions, and ended up just using humour as a get-out clause, by making a joke about myself before anyone else could. Stuff like “I’d be dangerous if I had a brain, but guess we’re all safe on that one!”, or my personal favourite “yup, I tend to throw up when I look at me too!” Sometimes though the opposite is true. I say I’m fine, when in reality I’m hurting like hell – but that’s just the protective barriers going back up.
  • I over-analyse everything – worrying about things I might have done, event though I didn’t do anything, this does nothing for my stress levels! But at the end of the day, it’s always my fault!
  • I am not comfortable in large crowds – I feel suffocated.
  • I am never going to amount to much – however hard I try!

The other side to acceptance is accepting other people.

It cannot be a one-way street.

If you want people to accept you, you have to accept them – flaws and all.

And maybe the world might not seem quite so unfriendly if we did!

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

