What are your vices?


Everyone has them?Books On Shelf In Bookshop

Now, I don’t drink, smoke, or gamble – unless you count a yearly flutter on the Grand National, or the occasional punt on the lottery (well, it could be me!).

But I have vices like everyone.

Clothes are one.

I love clothes. I have an awful lot of them.

And despite me doing a complete clear-out of stuff that I really will never wear again, I still have a lot.

Could probably do with another clear-out.

But you never know when that dress/outfit will come in handy 😉

And clothes call out to me – seriously, I can walk into a shop and outfits will scream “buy me! buy me!”

It takes a lot of willpower to resist when clothes start talking, believe me.

And don’t even get me started about the little boutiques that have “silly prices” signs in their windows – it’s like an invitation.

Mind you, that’s not to say I haven’t picked up some very good bargains, which I wear, and haven’t just stuffed at the back of the wardrobe.

And, I don’t have a credit card, so willpower, a lot of the time, gets overpowered by the lack of cash – which always helps resist.

My other big vice is books.

I am a bookworm, complete with glasses.

I will read, practically anything.

I do like chick-lit, bit of escapist boy-meets-girl-loses-girl-but-everyone-lives-happily-ever-after type novel. I find they don’t take too long to read, and you can generally work out the plot line fairly early on, but they always leave you thinking “oh, if only reality were like that!”.

I like classics as well. Haven’t read the vast catalogue of classics, but have made headway. I picked up a bizarre ‘classic’ years ago called “The Adventures of Roderick Random” by Tobias Smollett. It took me six attempts to get past the first page, but when I did it was surprisingly quite a good book.

I will pick out books from a shop purely by the look of the cover and what I read on the back. Obviously that method is a bit hit and miss, but I haven’t read too many ‘misses’.

And I will buy a pile of books at a go – not just one, especially if the bookshop has “BOGOF”, or half price signs.

I have so many books I think I would need an entire room covered wall to wall to fit them all in, and even them, there may not be room for all of them.

I guess they aren’t bad vices, not too bad really 😉

So what are yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under life

Leave a Reply

