Out of the Mouthes of Babes – Easter


“Why is it called Good Friday?”, asked SC this morning whilst he was eating his breakfast.easter

“I don’t know darling,” I answered, “It doesn’t seem a Good Friday really, seeing as it’s the day Jesus was killed!”

“But, mummy,” he replied, “Jesus was happy to die, because he died for us.”

“Yes, but why did he die for us?” I asked.

A moment’s silence.

“I don’t know mummy.”

“I’ve got a good idea,” said I, “why don’t you ask your school teacher why it’s called Good Friday, and whilst you’re at it, ask her why it’s called Easter!”

Time passes, and SC is sitting in the bath.

“I know why it’s called Good Friday mummy,” he says, “it’s because that’s what they decided to call it!”

“I see, and is that what your teacher told you?”

“Yes, mummy.”

So, a not really helpful answer from the faith school (I could have come up with that one myself), and my question still remains unanswered.

Why is it called Good Friday and why is this period called Easter?

And whilst we’re at it, why do we say Happy Easter?

Answers gratefully received.

Leave a comment

Filed under Out of the Mouthes of Babes

Leave a Reply

