Top 3 Childhood Memories


What are the things that you fondly remember from your childhood?childhood memories

The thought struck me the other day as I was in the supermarket and saw Soreen Malt Toastie Loaf. Total flashback. I loved this as a child and remember how always, no matter how long you’d kept the loaf in the fridge or bread bin, that when you went to cut a slice the loaf squeezed down to a nanomillimetre square!

So my first childhood memory has to be Soreen Malt Loaf spread with butter. Yes, butter, none of that terribly healthy and good for your cholesterol low-fat spread.

My second memory was helping my mum making cakes and then being able to lick the spoon with the remnants of the unmade cake mixture.

Did it matter one iota that it had a raw egg in? No. The egg scare hadn’t happened then. I wonder what would happen today if children were allowed to do that?

But my favourite childhood memory has to be that of my beloved grandfather’s carrots.

He was a nursery-man and had a garden as long as a football pitch (not as wide though) and every inch of it was dedicated to growing vegetables. You name it, he grew it!

He kept onions in tights in his shed, along with sackfuls of potatoes. Cabbages, cauliflowers and other staple vegetables were plentiful. Picked, cooked and served when required.

But the best thing was always going over and helping him dig carrots out of the ground, washing them under some water and then eating them. Nothing will ever come close to beating that taste.

My dad, has not inherited the gardening genes, and carrots grown in our vegetable plot tend to be very tiny! SC and I on the other hand love getting grubby in the garden and have decided that this year we will take on the vegetable patch and I hope that the gardening genes have only skipped 1 generation!

In this day and age of technology it saddens me to think that some children will not have innocent happy childhood memories to look back on, but I hope I can make some for SC 😉

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Top 10

Leave a Reply

