I’ve Done It!


I am a recovering ‘biscuit-a-holic’.Biscuits

It’s been a whole year since my last biscuit.

They were my bete noir, my one temptation, my big bulimic tendency – whenever I felt a bit down, I would reach out for the biscuits and would quite happily munch through near-on a whole packet with a cup of tea.

But no more.

I gave them up for Lent in 2011 and found that pretty easy. So last December – after having one too many – I decided to give them up completely.

Again the stopping was very easy, and then from not having eaten them, my sense of smell underwent a drastic detox.

No longer when I opened the biscuit tin (SC is partial to a Malted Milk) did I smell delicious biscuit smells.

Oh no!

All I could smell when I opened the biscuit tin was the processed fats and sugars.

It took 10 days for the nice smell to go, and gradually over the course of a month the sense of the vile processed smell increased.

And now, a year on, the vile processed smell is still there. It is quite repulsive, and makes me glad I don’t indulge any more.

I can honestly say, that I do not feel the need to have a biscuit and even when I have made them at home with SC I do not feel the urge to eat one.

Biscuit addiction – cured 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

