Colonic Irrigation … Would You?


We’ve all seen the reality shows where ‘celebs’ go on a detox retreat and have to self-irrigate the colon by lying upside down on a wooden plank and pouring strong coffee into … well you get the general drift.

Colonic irrigation, or colon hydrotherapy ‘western-style’ is a more genteel affair.

Performed in sterile conditions, with machinery and warm water replacing wooden boards and coffee.

There are 2 sides the coin.

On one side, science has discredited the procedure as there is no evidence to suggest that colon cleansing, as practised by the Ancient Egyptians and Greeks, actually provides any health benefits, and in some cases is actually harmful, since the colon ‘is not dirty’ and naturally eliminates any waste product.

On the other side of the coin, is the belief, as held by the Ancient Egyptians and Greeks, that all the waste the we naturally expel from our colon (how polite is that?), causes a build up of mucus within the colon that stays after the waste has gone. It is this mucus build up, they say, that then increases toxin levels which enter our bloodstream, poisoning our bodies. Some people claim this mucus build-up causes symptoms such as fatigue, weight gain and low energy.

There is another ‘way out’ theory, that stress and past trauma help cause a build-of of waste that cakes to the wall of the colon and by eliminating this waste through colon cleansing, effectively rids you of all this past hurt – a bit like re-birthing!

For the record I have tried it!

Years ago, I went to a clinic and had it done. One of those things that was popular in ‘celeb-land’ at the time and I thought I’d give it a go.

Now, placebo effect, or whatever you want to call it, it may have been, but after the 1st treatment I actually felt as if I had more energy. I didn’t listen properly to the ‘after-care’ instructions though and didn’t drink enough, which resulted in a stinker of a headache for a couple of days, but like I said that was my fault, not a result of the treatment.

I did have done a couple more times, but the second time the woman doing it, was clearly a novice, as I mentioned that the speculum they … well I won’t go in to too much detail … needless to say I was proved right! I did go back again, but having been traumatised the second time, I couldn’t go through with it.

I don’t think I’d do it again, if I ever felt the need to rid myself of past hurts I think I’d rather just go into the countryside and have a good scream – its cheaper for one thing 😉

I think I put myself on the scientific side of the bench for this one and say that, for me, at least I saw no benefit. It was one of those crazy things you do, just because. I think with a good diet, less stress and exercise your colon will stay in pretty good shape.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

