Dreams -v- Reality (A Fairy Story)


“You’re all the same, you girls” said the rather over-worked Fairy Godmother, as she came across Princess Rosie looking rather subdued.

“You all dream about a fairytale with a happy ever after, my life is no fairytale I can assure you of that! What’s wrong then my dear?”

“I’m so confused,” answered Princess Rosie, “he said he loved me and then in the next breath said I should find someone better!”

“Oh!” said her Fairy Godmother, “then, my dear he does not deserve you.”

“But I miss him,” Princess Rosie whispered.

“Mmmm. Do you miss him, or just the thought of him?”

Princess Rosie thought for a while.

“I miss him,” she said.

“Really?” asked her Fairy Godmother.

“Yes! I know I only knew him for a short while Fairy Godmother, but I miss his quirky sense of humour. I miss his smile. I miss the sound of his feet scuffing along the pavement as he walks. I miss the bad cups of tea he made and I miss the notes he used to send me about nothing in particular.”

“I know it’s hard, my dear,” replied her Fairy Godmother, “but these feelings will pass. We have to have 2 boxes of past events to close. One for the memories and one for the feelings and emotions. The memory box is always much easier to shut than the feeling box. Trust me though, it does get easier.”

“Was everything he told me just lies then?” asked Princess Rosie.

“That is something we will never know, my dear. I’m too long in the tooth for my head to be full of romantic notions of hearts and flowers. My guess is he isn’t even giving you a second thought, and even if he is, my advice would be to believe it all as lies – it will make the feelings box easier to close.”

“You know what,” said Princess Rosie, “I had this silly idea that he would come back. Just a small thought at the back of my mind. But a glimmer of hope at least. What an idiot I am?”

“No, not an idiot,” replied the Fairy Godmother, “just a little foolish and naive in believing that fairytales really do exist.”

“Why is it fairy Godmother,” sobbed Princess Rosie, “that dreams are so much rosier than reality?”

“Because, my dear,” answered the old Fairy slowly, “in our dreams we have hope, but when we wake up to the cold light of reality we realise we have nothing.”

1 Comment

Filed under life

One response to “Dreams -v- Reality (A Fairy Story)

Leave a Reply

