Welcome to Car Wreck Central!


It’s hard trying to play the ‘glad game’ all the time, especially when you feel like everything you touch crumbles into a complete disaster.

I’ve been feeling like that the past couple of days.

No matter how hard I try to stay positive, I’m not managing to, just at this moment in time!

Not that I’m wallowing in self-pity, rather trying to understand why it seems that everything I try to do with my life ends in a car wreck, metaphorically speaking.

I bought into a pre-school activity franchise. Something I totally believe in and something I’m actually quite good at (I hope).

But I’ve been working my backside off for the last 2 years for literally less than nothing. Everything I try to do to increase revenue, doesn’t work.

It’s kind of got to the point where I can either sit in the car wreck, in pain.

Or get the heck out.

On paper, it was a good investment with potential.

In practice (and yes, bearing in mind the current economic climate, etc) it is becoming the proverbial millstone around my neck.

In terms of stress, my level is off the scale. I can’t sleep. I am becoming very apathetic about the whole thing and let’s not even begin to talk about the havoc it is reeking on my skin!

In reality, if truth be told, these type of franchises are only suitable for women who want to earn a little bit of extra income. In my particular franchise, even the best performing franchisee only takes a basic income after all her expenses.

The trouble is, I don’t want it as an extra income, I need it as a main income in order to provide for SC.

Effectively I need a man’s salary!

The sad fact is, the only way I’m going to be able to do that is to go back to what I did pre-SC.

And that means, I lose out on time with him, which was the whole reason for buying the damn franchise in the first place.

I need to provide for him, but that means I won’t be there for him!

And not matter how much I try to feel glad, I can’t.

Maybe I’ll feel better tomorrow. After all tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it 😉

2 Comments

Filed under life

2 responses to “Welcome to Car Wreck Central!

  1. Being the sole provider for a family is hard and to put on top of that stress the fact that the provider is also the only parent in the home makes life phenomonoly difficult. But you can do it. From the post alone, SC is very lucky that you want to do what is best for him, which is not always what brings in the big bucks. There is always better things following a storm, so hang tight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

