I lie with you until you are asleep – A Sonnet


I found the link to this in my twitter feed this morning. It is from http://www.the-mule.com/2012/09/i-lie-with-you-until-you-are-asleep.html blog and it is the most beautiful poem I have ever read about what being a parent means:

I lie with you until you are asleep

I lie with you until you are asleep,
Ten minutes, twenty, thirty, often more,
Clocks tick, frustration builds, yet still I keep,
And stay with you on your side of the door.
Out there, my old life tempts, a voice cries, “Fail!”,
And tells me there are better things to do,
The world shrinks down, we both exhale,
And drift together, touching souls, we two.
In age, perhaps, you’ll do the same for me,
And hold my papery hand, and stroke my hair,
You’ll know the worth of love’s proximity,
The gift we give by simply being there.
A final kiss, a sigh, a comfort deep:
I lie with you until you are asleep

 

It’s the most wonderful thing to watch your children drift off to dreamland, cuddled up in your arms. SC has gone off to sleep this way since the day he was born. And, yes, even after he has drifted off and I attempt to extricate my arm as quietly as possible, I always give him a kiss and tell him how much I love him.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Children

Leave a Reply

