Cooking Pasta


It’s supposed to be the simplest thing in the world to cook, so why does my pasta always take longer than the cooking time indicated on the packet?

It’s not that I’m an atrocious cook – I take pride in being able to whip up a 3-course meal, but this just beats me every single time!

Pasta the other day said “cooks in 5 minutes.”

I followed the instructions to the letter, and lo 5 minutes later the pasta was still far too ‘al dente’, it was like eating chewy toffee but without the stickiness, just the chewiness. 15 minutes later and it was just passable.

What state is one supposed to eat pasta in?  Chewy toffee state, mush state, or some happy medium in between?

Someone said that I could be cooking the pasta too fast! With a 5 minute cooking time and instructions to bring water to boil, add pasta and keep boiling for 5 minutes, what part of that would be cooking it too fast?

Also, why whenever I cook pasta and replace the lid when cooking does the water always bubble up and spill over so I literally am sitting watching a pot boil (as opposed to a kettle)?

If anyone has any hidden gems about these matter they would be gratefully received.

Maybe it’s the pasta I buy, maybe it’s just me 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “Cooking Pasta

  1. Haha it’s not just you! I always make sure the water is boiling pretty rapidly in a pot, and salt for taste, and then put in the pasta noodles. I usually cook it roughly 5 minutes longer than the box says, because that’s the way I like it! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

