Winter Hands (or Project Save My Hands from Cracking Up!)


As September approaches with alarming speed (where has this year gone?) my thoughts turn to my hands.

For reasons unbeknown to me, no matter how much cream I plaster onto them from the middle of September through to pretty much the end of June my hands get as rough as a fisherman (and no the Norwegian hand cream doesn’t work, tried it), and they crack to the point of bleeding. And yes, I wear gloves, dry my hands properly, etc.

I’ve tried everything;

  • Vaseline
  • Hand cream
  • Olive oil and brown sugar
  • Manuka Honey
  • etc

The only one that came pretty close was the olive oil and brown sugar exfoliant mixture, followed by smothering my hands in olive oil. Maybe if I start it now, my hands won’t crack up!

The thing that struck me as I perused the hand cream aisle in the pharmacists was the notice on a lot of products “contains 10% urea”.

Hmm!

Now, isn’t urea a component of urine?

If so, maybe I should just try peeing on my hands?

Isn’t that a tasteful thought?

Seriously though, if anyone has any recommendations I’d be ever so grateful.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

