Top 3 ‘comforts’


So, let’s say you’ve had a lousy day at work, you’re stressed or you just feel less than 100%, a bit down. What do you do to make you feel better?

Some people reach for the chocolate, others for a bottle of red (or white) wine.

Obviously, that doesn’t work for me!

My top 3 comfort methods for feeling better are (in no particular order)

  1. Cuddles – SC is brilliant at just flinging his arms around me, for no reason, and saying “I love you Mummy”. It’s guaranteed to put a smile on my face every time 😉 He also instinctively knows if I’m not feeling happy and gives me lots of big hugs – which are obviously returned as big, if not bigger.
  2. Watching a old-fashioned movie, snuggled under the duvet and slumming it in pyjamas – with a box of tissues to hand. I’m an old-fashioned kind-of gal, and those old movies get me every time. You know the 1940’s and 1950’s movies – English or Hollywood, not particularly fussed. But the type where boy gets girl … in the end. Never a dry eye watching those.
  3. Cake – Well, since I can’t eat chocolate and don’t like wine, I must have to have one vice, don’t I? I love making cakes, but you can’t beat a cup of tea and slice of cake from either the local tea-shop or from the bakery department at the supermarket. Although I hate coffee to drink, I am quite partial to coffee cake, but I do have a soft spot for a moist, carrot cake with cream frosting – there is an amazing shop just opened where I live and there carrot cake is to die for (nom  nom).

What do you reach for in times of trouble?

Leave a comment

Filed under Top 10

Leave a Reply

