Where do you do your best thinking?


Not only do I love a hot, steamy shower, but I find it’s where I do my best thinking.

Not only does the shower (especially a super power-shower) pummel and wash away all the stress of the day but my brain cells get a good workout at the same time.

Not just “Eureka!” moments, when I think of a nifty way to solve a problem, but all kinds of things, like conversations I should have had, questions I’d like to know the answers to, dreams that I wish would happen or even just giving myself a darn good talking to for being so stupid!

You know, stuff like:

Why do I let stuff get to me? (Imaginary conversation replies with “don’t be such a wally and don’t even worry about anything!)

Why do people lack common sense these days? Life is not difficult if you apply common sense! (Imaginary conversation suggests not to worry)

What can I do to improve my business prospects? (The Imaginary Conversation Board (me, myself and I) are still in conference about this – they will report back with a 5000 page analysis eventually!)

How can I make more money? (I’m sure everyone has this thought going round their heads – again imaginary conversation is brainstorming as we speak and will get back to me with suitably crazy schemes in due course)

How would I spend a win on the lottery? (don’t get me started on my conspiracy theory on this one – imaginary conversation dreams of a cottage by the sea, a garden with a big tree and a thinking bench underneath, a VW Camper Van with surfboards strapped to the top, sunshine, etc., etc., etc.)

Where should I go on holiday? (Imaginary conversation conjures up road trips, exotic rail journeys, space camp, surf school, sunshine and far away places)

How can anyone charge over £300 for a very simple sundress that quite frankly probably only took half a day to knock up? I’m in the wrong business and shall find my sewing machine to start practising forthwith! (Imaginary conversation reminds me that I’m not the best seamstress in the world, but it’s sure even I could knock up a sundress!)

Lists – I go over things I need to do, things I’d love to do, all the time. They never get done. (Imaginary conversation starts list, then laughs, tries to start again and reminds me I already have lists upon lists that are growing longer!)

I spend a lot of time in the shower, just thinking about this and that and having imaginary conversations!

But I do get out of the shower thoroughly refreshed, rejuvenated and looking at things in a more positive frame of mind

Does this make me quirky?

Where do you do your best thinking?

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “Where do you do your best thinking?

  1. msperfectpatty

    I think I do my best thinking at work cuz I don’t have much else to do and it’s pretty quiet so I think a lot

    Like

  2. In the car… I don’t know why but when I’m driving alone my mind just races (no pun intended). The problem is, I usually realise I’m driving and suddenly snap out if it while completely forgetting what I was thinking about!!

    Like

    • Isn’t that always the way. You have this great thought and then 5 minutes later you can’t remember it at all.
      The care is a great place to think, especially, as you say driving alone, when you’re fed up with the radio.

      Like

Leave a Reply

