Chickenpox – what worked for me!


Easter 2011 SC developed the dreaded chickenpox.

We’d escaped, thus far, despite at least 2 outbreaks at nursery.

He’d shown no symptoms at all. We even went to his pre-school gym class in the afternoon.

I took his clothes off and noticed nothing before popping him into the bath …

… and then no more than 10 minutes later there they were, 3 big red spots on his abdomen.

I’d had chickenpox when I was about 8 or 9 and had them very bad, as did my sister. We had spots everywhere you could possibly imagine.

Anyway, SC got the pox.

Now, I’m very much into alternative and natural remedies as much as I can. SC hasn’t had any antibiotics at all, and the only pain relief he has is baby Nurofen – as unlike Calpol doesn’t have colours or sugar in.

So when he’d gone to sleep that night I had a good old surf to find out what to do, naturally for chickenpox.

Remedies ranged from drinking plenty of fluids, water and fruit juice to weird herbal concoctions.

A friend had also recommended something called “Virasoothe”.

So the next morning I set off to the chemist to see what I could get. I bought:

  • Aqueous Cream with Calamine – remember the old calamine lotion, pink and dried white? This didn’t dry out, but did stick to the clothes – wouldn’t recommend it.
  • Allerelief – this is a natural allergy relief medicine (like Piriton but no colours/sugars, etc)

Then I went to have a look at this Virasoothe.

The packet says it “contains OSMO 4, a unique patented technology that has been clinically proven to relieve the irritating symptoms of chickenpox by cooling the skin and thereby relieving itching. By protecting the skin’s environment it allows the skin to heal naturally which can help reduce long-term scarring.”

Clearly the first thing I did afterwards was to look at the list of ingredients: Glycerin, PEG-8, caprylyl glycol, sodium polyacrylate, carbomer, sodium hydroxide and purified water.

Now, could somebody please point out which of these ingredients is the magical OSMO-4? And how, please can you be protecting the skin’s environment by using absolutely nothing obviously natural in the ingredients?

So, based on the lack of this magical OSMO-4 ingredient I passed in buying.

I remembered some of the remedies I had read on the internet and trudged along to the health shop.

Purchased, one tube of Aloe Vera Gel and some Vitamin E oil.

SC had a really bad dose of Chickenpox – surprisingly though he had very few spots on his arms and legs, despite having them in his mouth, whites of his eyes, eyelids, ears, head, bottom, palms of feet and hands.

So, what worked for me?

Daily Peppermint Tea Bag baths! I read that peppermint oil dropped into the bath water was extremely good to stop itching. In the absence of any essential peppermint oil, but a packet of Twinings Mint Selection Tea Bags I improvised. I made up a large mug of peppermint tea (tea bag in cup and add hot water variety) and then tipped into SC’s bath water. He loved having a green bath, and what’s more it smelled great 😉 We varied the bags each night – his favourite was Peppermint and Chamomile 😉

After carefully drying him I applied the aloe vera gel, which soothes, is clear, and doesn’t make a mess.

He did have a couple of spoonfuls of the allergy relief medicine and some pain relief, but not a huge amount.

Thanks to the baths and gel he didn’t scratch once, and once the scabs starting falling off naturally I started applying the Vitamin E oil, which helps repair skin.

So, I thoroughly recommend a peppermint tea-bag bath, aloe vera gel and Vitamin E oil when it comes to chickenpox.

Hopefully SC won’t get it again, but it would be great to hear some of your stories.

1 Comment

Filed under Children

One response to “Chickenpox – what worked for me!

  1. Reblogged this on Diary of a Wonderful Geekette and commented:

    Seeing as the dreaded ‘pox’ is doing the rounds again, here’s what worked for me when SC caught them …

    Like

Leave a Reply

