Cupcake Attempt #3 – The Verdict


Great texture, cooked to perfection.

My mother’s reaction to a blind test with Batch 2 and Batch 3, was she preferred the taste of Batch 2, but the texture of Batch 3.

The rest of the family loved them.

To date I have been trying to perfect the method of making a perfect set of cupcakes. I have yet to try anything more difficult than a simple vanilla cupcake and don’t even ask about frosting and decorations.

I think that I shall keep to using my soya margarine and brown sugar instead of real butter and white sugar, as the former are slightly more delicate on the old cholesterol levels. Cupcakes made from real butter, etc shall be kept for very special occasions.

The next task on the quest will be to try to get a more vanillary flavour to the cakes. I have used the correct amount and more than stated, but to no avail. The vanilla flavour is not there at all.

I am using vanilla extract and not vanilla flavour, but would the answer be to use vanilla sugar as well as vanilla extract?

Batch 4 this week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

